A'Kin Rose & Geranium Pure Creamy Cleanser & Toner in One - review

8:21 AM

The lovely Sabine from Echolife sent me A'kin's Rose & Geranium Pure Creamy Cleanser & Toner in One (phew, long name!) for my birthday, after hearing that I was running low on facial cleanser. Of course, for a beauty blogger, "running low on facial cleanser" actually translates to "I have one and a half tubes of cleanser left, but am already starting to panic that I need MOAR PRODUCTS!". Ahem. So I only got around to using this one a few weeks ago.

Incidentally, this in-between seasons Spring Sydney has been having (hello rain, wind and the occasional heat-blast of a day when I'm wearing the thickest fleece tights ever) is a good time to introduce a soothing, creamy cleanser. My skin isn't quite sure what's happening, and doing that charming thing where dry patches appear on my cheeks one day, with little bumpy not-quite-but-could-soon-be-pimples joining the party the next. Fun times!

I was previously using a cleanser from Environ, and just replaced it with this once I hit tube. No changes to other skincare components, as is my way when trying a new skincare product for the first time.

The cardboard box packaging is simple and functional

It's a pretty big tube at 225ml, and after using the first few times, I realised it was going to last me absolutely ages due to the small amount of product needed.

The scent is very floral - not fresh wet roses, but more like those giant old tea roses with something herbal mixed in. It isn't a really strong scent, but definitely noticeable. I really liked it, so it wasn't an issue for me at all, and I appreciate that the scent is derived from flower oil with their own benefits for the skin. None of that chemically lab-created fragrance here!

This is way too much product. I only need to use half of this for my entire face.

It's a super rich cream formula, and full of moisturing oils like sesame, olive, macadamia, jojoba and shea butter. Although it's so thick, it spreads really well across damp skin and you only need a smidgen to do the job.

The packaging says it can rinsed or wiped off with a cloth after application on a wet face. I'll admit that I only ever use rinse off formulas myself, as cotton-balling or wiping off a facial cleanser just squicks me out massively. Like, how can you know your face is really clean and not all dirt-festering if you don't use water? That's just science, man. Aqua-science. 

So after rising my face (like God damn well intended us to do), my skin felt pleasantly clear. No too-tightness or squeaky clean skin, just soft and comfortable which I found helped calm down my dry cheeks considerably. There is a slight amount of residue left behind, something that you may appreciate was a protective barrier, especially for more mature skin, or if like me, your skin is super immature, it's easily refreshed with toner before layering your serums and moisturiser. It is a two in one product, and when I've used this in the morning, I'm quite happy to go without toning (that's an extra 35 seconds in bed!). However, I'm a slave to routine, and you can prise my night toner out of my cold, dead, well-moisturised hands.


A'kin's Rose & Geranium Pure Creamy Cleanser & Toner in Oneretails for A$29.95 from Echolife, and it's worth noting they have free shipping too.

Disclaimer: These products were sent to me by Echolife. They have in no way influenced my review and opinions are my own. It is also my opinion that face rinsing is legion. The links in the post are not affiliate links, and I do not profit from you using them. See my Disclaimer for more sexy details.

You Might Also Like

26 brilliant comments

  1. Sounds lovely! Might have to try it. Because I don't have enough cleansers. MOAR CLEANSER

    It's not hoarding, it's preparation in case of a sudden cleanser emergency.

  3. Beauty In A BottleNovember 3, 2012 at 9:00 AM

    I LOVE A'kin products, but haven't tried this. I have to admit I'm hesitant about a 2 in 1 cleanser. I'm a creature of habit and don't think that I'd ever skip toner. You should try their brightening mist. I LOVE it. Except mine has grown legs and has run off :( So I'm using a Jurlique Mist.

  4. Love the sound of this! I've only recently gotten onto the whole "cleanse, tone, moisturize" bandwagon (I seriously never did any of that...stuff until companies started giving me...stuff...and I was like..."WTF is this?!") and now I'm thinking "If I'm going to do this shiz I want something GOOD going on my face" so this looks right up my alley. And yes to floral scent!

  5. I know how you feel about products that say you don't have to rinse with water. I do it anyway, thug life XD

  6. I love my toner too! Honestly, I thought all 2 in 1s were drying, but quite the opposite with this one. I like their mists too! I have the one that smells like roses in my fridge to spritz post-yoga :)

  7. I'd give it a burl, seeing it's full of all kinds of good things, and pretty easy to use. As long as you rinse it off...


  9. I love A'kin it's one of my favourite brands :) Especially the exfoliant!

  10. Yay Aqua-Science! I'm so glad you liked it :)

    I use the A'kin Neroli Cleansing Gel because my skin is combination - and I'm pretty impressed with it. I think they have cleansers down: I HATE a pulling or tight feeling after cleansing my skin. Plus I got some cleanser in my eye one clumsy morning and it didn't even sting!

    PS: I don't recommend putting cleanser in your eyes to marvel at the fact it doesn't sting.

  11. I'm a huge fan of A'kin - and a huger fan of the ole rinserooo!

  12. Ooh I haven't tried the exfoliant yet *adds to list*

  13. Loving the cleanser - it's so the right one for my skin type. V impressed with your choice :D

  14. Ooh, I haven't tried the exfoliant yet. *adds to list*

  15. I think you picked out a great one for me - perfect for my skin type.
    Not going to try the ol cleanser in the eye trick, I've fallen for that one before!

  16. I'm a born match-maker ;)



  19. I've been wanting to try this! I had a little sample in one of the subscription boxes and loved it.

  20. It's a good one! Didn't realise A'Kin was affiliated with any of the sub boxes though.

  21. Hi, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one
    and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam feedback?
    If so how do you stop it, any plugin or anything you can advise?
    I get so much lately it's driving me crazy so any help
    is very much appreciated.

    Look into my webpage; best weight loss diet plan

  22. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com


Got a brain bubble? Pop it here.