Elemis Papaya Enzyme Peel - review

12:32 PM

My masking addicted has previously been documented here, so you know I just cannot get enough of that smooth of clean skin, marinate for 15, then rinse to a sparkly new face routine. Recently, I've been trialling the Papaya Enzyme Peel from Elemis, something that combines something I like (tropical fruits yeah!), with something I'm useless with (science, how does it work?).

This is a chemical exfoliator, and like all similar products with potentially potent ingredients, it's prudent to test-patch it before slathering over your face. I'm really impatient, so I hoped for the best, smoothed a layer over dry, freshly cleansed skin and let the magic happen.

Rinsing off after about 20 minutes, I didn't notice much of a difference aside from a tightness across my nose and forehead. Shrugged and went through the rest of my nightly routine (tone, serum, eye cream, moisturise, retire to the soft arms of my Paul Rudd body pillow).

But come the next morning and hoo-boy, my skin was looking fiiiiiiiine! Think visibly smoother, silky to touch and with its own little glow going on.

Using a peel mask like this one is a most excellent alternative to physical exfoliators, as they avoid scratching or damaging your skin with jagged scrubby bits, but still eat away enough dull surface skin to reveal that fresh face beneath.

I wouldn't use anymore than once a week on my normal-dry type skin and would prob take the tube out for a spin about 2 days before you want your skin at optimum hotness.

While we're on the subject of Elemis, I also tried their Exotic Frangipani Monai Body Oil and ermahgerd you guys, it smells so ridiculously amazing!

I love when scented products smell like their real, true-to-life namesake and not a shitty synthetic imitation, and Elemis have done a bang up job here with their frangipani oil. You can use it as a bath oil under running water, smoothed into damp skin to moisturise, or just con your boyfriend into giving you a shoulder and back massage with it "for the blog". Which I guess it is now!

Elemis Papaya Enzyme Peel retails for A$70 for 50ml and their Frangipani Monai Body Oil A$69 (yeah yeah) for 100ml.

Disclaimer: These products were provided to me for consideration by Elemis (sample size peel and full size body oil). They have in no way influenced my review and opinions are my own. It is also my opinion that you only have one life, so why not spend it being massaged? See my Disclaimer for more sexy details.

You Might Also Like

22 brilliant comments

  1. That body oil sounds kind of amazing. Hate synthetic scents, and am surprised they could get a real 'frangipani' scent. Props to them!

    1. It smells sooooo good, and I'm not even a floral scents kinda person!

  2. Totally agreed on the synthetic scents but not sure about the tropical fruits (I come from a tropical country but must take more after my Japanese half!) scent - loving the sound of your results! Might be keen to try...if I can overcome the fruits thing.

    1. Ooh it doesn't really smell like fruit, more of a....creamy scent?

  3. That peel sounds totally up my alley, I love that kind of result! I use an Alpha-H exfoliator that is fruit based, so this could go great guns with that.

    1. Ah sounds like your Alpha-H exfoliator would be similar, so this shouldn't irritate. I just love how smooth my skin is after.

  4. From what I know (*puts on geek glasses*) papaya contains papain, an enzyme which is actually used as a meat tenderiser. At a low concentration it exfoliates skin much like AHAs/BHAs.

    How terrible is it that I disapprove of the way that dog's set up his glassware? Clamp that round bottom flask, you muppet!

    1. The science, it buuuuuuuurns us! Thanks for the nifty facts, it's exactly the info I'm after, but too lazy to Google. Yep, when I see a dog with a chemical lb set up, the first thing I notice is his incorrect flash handling! For shame!

  5. PAUL RUDD BODY PILLOW ERMIGERD! Also, I want this peel.

    1. ERMAHGERD!! I think you need both pillow and peel.

  6. I'm always so worried about trying out new skincare, especially masks and serums. I've had wayyyyy to many bad experiences

    1. I know exactly what you mean, I'm surprised really that I've such a good run with skincare recently *knocks wood*

  7. Great review, I love Elemis products and after I moved here from the UK i'm thrilled you can get them here. The Papaya Enzyme peel is fantastic but you are right I don't use this more than once per week but I use the Collagen Marine cream daily ( only a small amount though as its quite expensive ) , I haven't used any of the oils but may be tempted. I would recommend only buying Elemis products through official stockists as I have been stung before, My fault I thought paying half price meant I was getting a bargain but I wasn't. I have since been recommended by Elemis to buy them in Oz online through www.faceache.com.au and Adorebeauty.com.au or directly through spas like the Lakehouse at Daylesford.

    1. I've got a mini of the Collagen Marine, so am looking forward to trying it while I'm traveling next - it's the perfect size!
      For skincare, I ALWAYS buy direct from the brand or an authorised stockist, it's just too risky to save a few bucks.

  8. I came here for the scientist dog.

  9. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com


Got a brain bubble? Pop it here.