1932 by Tabu - perfume review

3:56 PM

In 1932, the original Tabu was created by Jean Carles for the Spanish company Dana, who wanted a fragrance a puta (whore) would wear. While originally prestige fragrance, it has dropped in status the last few decades, and now lines discount stores and Priceline.  Despite being priced at under $20, the original warm, spicy floral with a rich woods base still gives a lot of bang for your buck (pun totally intended).

80 years on, Dana has released 1932 by Tabu to celebrate many years of slutting it up everywhere from my neckline to your grandma's wrists, and everything in between. The dirty slapper of a scent has retained its citrusy top notes, thanks to the bergamot and lemon, spicy warmth and heart of rose and sandalwood. The animalistic civet is completely erased, along with the sweaty balsamic note that reminds you of used, tangled sheets and a day old man's shirt. This new formulation is less demanding, with a soft musk and vanilla note turning it from the roughed up hooker with a heart of gold, to the call girl who kisses on the lips and listens to your secrets.

While it's not the best scent ever, it has its merits, and works well as a comforting stay at home and watch old 70's films type scent. It does have remarkable staying power, and quite a reach, so spray lightly.

I think 1932 is defiantly more approachable for the new generation, being less musty and eau de old lady, with a touch of fruit. I also suspect we finally now know what fragrance Cady Heron preferred.

Another change is the gorgeous Art Deco style bottle that is reminiscent of the cello-shaped spray the original Tabu came in, both being much nicer than the cheap looking black capped rectangular Tabu of today. 

Don't let the el cheapo price tag turn you away, both 1932 by Tabu and the original Tabu (especially if you can find a vintage cello bottle) are worth trying and may be a pleasant surprise for those from the school of fruity florals.

Plus, pretty bottle!

1932 by Tabu retails for A$19.95 from discount chemists and perfumeries.

You Might Also Like

19 brilliant comments

  1. haha such a cute bottle! reminds me of something i would find on my grannys vanity

    1. It's such a granny bottle, but that's what I like about it!

  2. Props for yet another marvellous Mean Girls reference!! U go Glen Coco!!

    1. Where there's a will, there's a MG reference ;)

  3. Love how you weren't afraid to sex up that review! Hahahaaaaaa

    1. You can never have too much sexing up!

  4. awesome post! and I love that quote from Mean Girls haha.


    1. I love Mean Girls more than what would be considered healthy.

  5. I like the bottle design, very classic and nanna-esque, which I like. I don't think I've ever smelt this!

    1. It's worth a try at $20, just for the bottle prettiness!

  6. Boo you whore! I never in a million years would have picked this up before reading this post, but I'll give it a sniff next time I see it...

    1. She doesn't even go here! Def give it a sniff, it's not as nanna as you'd think!

  7. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com


Got a brain bubble? Pop it here.