shu uemura Eye and Cheek Palette in Drowning in Flame - review and swatches

10:09 AM

I picked up this shu uemura Holiday 2011 Eye and Cheek Palette in Drowning in Flame (wow, melodramatic much?) last year, obviously, but only just got around to trying out the shades. I'm not normally big on eyeshadow, being heavy handed/fingered with shadow application and a tendancy to forget I'm wearing it until two seconds after I've mashed my ape knuckles into my eyesockets and smeared it across my forehead. Also, you know how somethimes eyeshadow just look wrong on some people? I was kinda like that.
Allison, I love you, but no. Here's a Wotnot wipe.
But then with some time to kill in the gym changeroom (waiting for my lotion to dry before squeezing in to jeans is booooooring), I tried another shu uemura palette that I was using for its blush and I loved it. Enough to give this limited edition a shot, along with the Rouge Unlimited lipstick in Glitter Fuse (review here).


Firstly, like the other goodies in the Wong Kar Wai collab, the packaging is gorgeous. The cover image changes from a lady nodding her head and moving her crazy embellished talons nails across her face. Impossible to take a decent picture of the pretty changing-ness of it all, you'll just have to trust me.

As for colour selection, we have a dusky purple-grey, baby pink, a brighter fairy-floss pink, shimmery gold, tea-rose cream and a cream with a hint of white-gold.

Aside from the rose cream (which is a blush) in the bottom left, these are medium pigmented pressed powders with a silky smooth finish.
Swatched in daylight, it's hard to make out the cream (it's on the far right, I swear) and I think this would be a great base/blending shade. The dusky eggplant has been great for a few date nights, allowing me to create a smoky eye that doesn't totally wash out my pale skin. The pinks are fairly meh, I haven't worked up to using shades that remind me of an eye infection yet. 
My stand out favourite is the gold. Tricky to tell, but in person it gives a polished gleam without being too full on Miss Piggy glitter. I've been smoothing it over less inspiring colours to give them a bit of 'ompf!'. I'll be working this shade and the others into my 'face of the day' pics I've been forcing on my poor Instagram followers (if you would like to subject yourself to such a thing, I'm michaelalrr).

The palette also came in a Burning in Water colour selection and they retail(ed) for A$115 at David Jones. Like I said, I'm super late with this review, so may be hard to find. I'm so helpful, I know.
In more helpful news, I have some prodcuts from their 2012 Spring/Summer line that I'm loving, will swatch and post this weekend.

You Might Also Like

16 brilliant comments

  1. I adore wkw, so was excited to see these released. The colours seem pretty, I might have a look to see if DJ's still have them out

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Worth a shot! Sometimes they have old lines in their counter that you can get samples of too.

      Delete
  2. 'Burning in Water', 'Drowning in Flame', Shu Uemura found Holiday inspiration from Charles Bukowski it seems :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They certainly were! I mentioned it when I covered the lipstick from the same line, as it sounded so familiar. SU credit him on their website, but I think it would have added more appeal if they mentioned it in advertising and packaging too.

      Delete
  3. beautiful make-up!!!!i'm following you!!if you like mine,do the same!!!

    Freaky Friday

    Freaky Friday FB FanPage

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Sabrina!
      Love your street style, so followed you back. Hope you are keeping warm in Rome!

      Delete
  4. Beautiful pics!!!i'm following you!!!if you like mine, do the same!!
    WWW.ZAGUFASHION.COM
    ZAGU FACEBOOK PAGE
    bloglovin follower

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks! Like your blog too, despite not being able to understand the non-English bits ;)

      Delete
  5. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete

Got a brain bubble? Pop it here.